Douglas Recktenwald

    PRP Fire Protection District Headquarters:

    9500 Stonestreet Road

    Pleasure Ridge Park, KY 40272

    (502) 935-3878


The Pleasure Ridge Park Fire Protection District was formed in 1950 when it became a taxing district.  It covers 56 square miles and serves the Pleasure Ridge Park and Valley Station communities located in southwestern Jefferson County, Kentucky.  We are one of fourteen Fire Protection Districts that make up the Jefferson County Suburban Fire Service.

  • The Pleasure Ridge Park Fire Protection District is committed to protecting lives, property, and the environment. We are responsive to the needs of those who visit and live in our community, by providing rapid, professional, emergency services essential to their health, safety, and well-being.
  • We accomplish our mission through prevention, education, fire suppression, first responder medical care, hazard mitigation, specialized rescue services, and other related activities.
  • We actively participate in our community, serve as role models, and strive to effectively and efficiently employ all of the necessary resources to provide a service deemed excellent by the people we serve.

The Pleasure Ridge Park Fire Protection District serves the community with 50 Career suppression members, 43 Volunteer suppression members, 5 full-time non-suppression members, 3 part-time members, and a Volunteer Auxiliary consisting of 16 members.  We operate out of seven Fire Stations strategically placed throughout our District to assure the rapid response to our constituents needs, and have a Training Center Facility, Vehicle Maintenance Repair Facility and District Headquarters.